Lets talk diabetes

Advertising tag lines seem to have got me thinking at the moment, see my blog entry Where will your bike take you. Lets talk about diabetes is Diabetes UK tag line for this years Diabetes week (12th – 18th June 2011).

I am not going to write detailed information about diabetes as I don’t want to misinform people about the disease, what I want to write is about my experiences of the disease. The Diabetes UK website has a very informative website about diabetes. I am writing this entry not to raise money for Diabetes UK or JDRF or any other diabetes-related charity. I am writing to raise awareness of this disease of which there are approximately 2.8 million people in the UK diagnosed with diabetes but more concerning there are an estimated 850,000 living unknowingly with the disease.

So, lets talk about diabetes, I don’t have diabetes, although it is a disease that I know a little about. A number of family memebers have the disease and I have always been aware of it. As long as I can remember my Nan was diabetic. My nan lived for many years after being diagnosed. She died shortly after her 90th birthday. I don’t think that I ever had a proper conversation with her about it, it was more the odd question, comment or seeing  insulin vials in the fridge when I got myself a drink. To me she was always a strong independant woman, which I think that may have inherited…

There are a number of different types of diabetes and it is type 2 that is in my family. Having a family history and being morbidly obese significantly increased my risks of developing diabetes. I am absolutely ashamed to admit this now, but when I was younger I went through a phase of wanting to be diabetic. I know now that this sounds awful but at the time I was obese and wanted a reason to take control of my life. As I got older I realised that being diabetic affects so much of your life. Whether I am obese or not I will always have a family history of diabetes. However I realised that I could limit my risks of developing the disease by losing weight and getting fit, this become one of the reasons that I lost weight. To read more about my weight loss read this blog entry the big cliche and irony of my life.

I don’t know about you but I am lazy sometimes and I don’t always click on links that someone puts on their blog. So to save you a click I want to finish with listing the symptoms of diabetes taken from Diabetes UK website The main symptoms of diabetes can include:

  • passing urine more often than usual, especially at night
  • increased thirst
  • extreme tiredness
  • unexplained weight loss
  • genital itching or regular episodes of thrush
  • slow healing of cuts and wounds
  • blurred vision
About marystumbles

These are my thoughts as I stumble through life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

